Scrub a dub dub

Bath Salt Stocking Stuffers

I’ve decided to document the DIY’s that I’ve become so fond of lately, and with Christmas right around the corner and stockings to stuff, I chose to make some homemade Bath Salts for those people in my life who enjoy a good soak.

First off, you should know that I’m a Pinterest junkie. I get an idea in my head, start pinning everything that looks appealing to me, and down the rabbit hole I go. So after spending the last couple weeks checking out different pages and recipes, I bought the stuff and mashed a few recipes together.

Below is the final recipe I went with. I added everything together in a large mixing bowl, gave it a very vigorous stir, making sure that all the clumps were gone, then moved on to the next step.

  • 3 cups Epsom Salt
  • 2 cups Sea Salt
  • 2 Tbsp Vitamin E oil
  • 1 cup Baking Soda

I wanted to make a variety of scents since I would be giving each person on my list two bags of salts. So after mixing all of that together, I portioned out 1 Cup at a time and added my essential oil scents, I did this by adding a few more drops of the Vitamin E oil into a small mixing bowl, then added somewhere between 10-20 drops of the essential oils I wanted. This definitely varied as I mixed/added to what smelled good to me, so play around a bit. Once you find the smell you want, dump that into the 1 Cup of baths salts, and mix until all the clumps are gone and the oils are evenly distributed in the mixture. I then portioned each batch into single use, 1/4 Cup baggies. I ended up with 28 bags of about 1/4 Cup of Salts in each.

  • Eucalyptus and Tea Tree
  • Peppermint and Rosemary
  • Lavender and Frankincense
  • Sweat Orange and Tea Tree
  • Lemongrass
  • Sweet Orange and Rosemary
  • Lavender and Eucalyptus
IMG_4078
Finished Salts

I’d like to think that my salts were a hit, I know that I enjoyed making them (and using the ones I’ve made for myself).  So down a glass of water, pour yourself a bath, enjoy a little well deserved alone time, and make sure to drink more water to re-hydrate yourself after.

Recipe #1

Recipe #2

Leave a Reply

