First time homeowners!

The Prologue.

We bought our first home! At times I look back and wonder what the hell I was thinking. Sometimes I wonder how we ever managed to walk down the aisle… I mean, come on….

In early 2014 we started looking at houses. I had ideas in my head, a general location, a general price range, and general style of home I wanted. It had to be a 3 bedroom, so both of Sean’s girls could have their own rooms for once in their life, it had to have 2 bathrooms, cause with 4 people and guests, multiple bathrooms was a must, and it had to have some land for the puppies to run. If the house needed some love, we could do this. Neither one of us are a slouch when it comes to renovations, so a little bit of work wouldn’t matter.

In March of 2014 I put in an offer on a 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom tri-level that needed minimal work. The bathroom and kitchen could stand to have some sprucing, but the house itself was move in ready. We would eventually need to remodel the basement to include a 2nd bathroom, but we decided it was worth it.

On April 1st, Sean proposed while we were on vacation celebrating our 5 year anniversary!

11046535_10153294735949218_1334664287597763255_n

On April 30th, after having the closing pushed back twice due to the bank that owned the house, we FINALLY closed. Homeowner achievement unlocked! We had all of May and a bit of June to prepare the house before moving in, so that Zoe could finish out the school year at her old school.

Sean and I, along with my mom, aunt, sister, and her then boyfriend, now husband (Congrats!), spent the first weekends working on the kitchen remodel. Details on that are here.

Then Sean and I painted some rooms.

Then we moved in.

Then we redid the bathroom. Details on that to follow.

Then Sean’s car died, so guess what? Brand new house? Brand new car too! YIKES!

The Kiss
Oh snap, We’re Married!

Oh, and during the midst of this all, we planned our wedding.

There were lots of DIY items.

I’m pretty sure Sean thought about leaving me multiple times.

I may have thought about leaving him multiple times.

But the wedding was beautiful, and I married my best friend.

This is the beginning of our story, may it be long and happy, and the ups be more plentiful than the downs.

Leave a Reply

